A Pound of Precept: Works-in-Progress

This is just a pointer to future posts in the pipeline.

1. I’m still working on Brandom and am confronting the necessity of reading Making It Explicit from cover to cover rather than perpetually skipping around. Consequently, expect a post on some of the methodological presuppositions and explanatory structure of Brandom’s project, and a second on the reading of the Enlightenment and the disenchantment of the world outlined in the first chapter. Hopefully both of those will be up in the next week.

2. Other than Brandom, I’m still reading Bernstein’s book on Adorno, which is sustaining my initial enthusiasm on the strength of the engaging strategy it pursues in diagnosing and attempting to overcome problems in modern ethical life, but I am finding many of the details less than convincing. I might leave this one to percolate before writing on it though.

3. I’ve been thinking about the notion of form in relation to German idealism, being drawn back to the question of the Kant-Hegel relation once more. So after finishing up on Brandom, I want to write something about the role of form in Hegel’s critique of Kant, focusing on the claim that Kant is a subjective idealist rather than the claim that he ends up with an empty formalism. In doing so, I’ll comment on some of the neo-Kantian attempts to rescue Kant from this charge, saying something about why I don’t think they work. That post will be a prolegomena to another that tries to say something about the relation of the Phenomenology to the Logic, commenting in a very general way about some of Hegel’s philosophical ambitions. Hopefully, that might be of some interest to those following the posts on the Logic over at Roughtheory and Perverse Egalitarianism.

Now the tricky bit, doing it all.

4 thoughts on “A Pound of Precept: Works-in-Progress

  1. I don’t suppose I could add to your workload by asking you to contribute something at some point to the discussion on the Logic? 😉 (What you’re already planning on Hegel could fit in, in any event – I’ll keep a running list going as the discussion unfolds, of posts people have tossed into the fray at various places…)

    Also very interested in seeing what you do on Brandom – LMagee and I will also hopefully get back to Making It Explicit soon – we’ve both been temporarily distracted with thesis-related writing…

  2. I’ll certainly try and give it a go in a few weeks, though to forewarn you I’ve only read a handful of scattered fragments from the Logic before so it will probably be little more than throwing up a few bemused associations connected to the material. Either way, I’m looking forward to hearing more of everyone else’s thoughts on the Logic, especially if they’re as interesting as the posts on it have been so far.

  3. I think most of us are in the same position – there are sections I’m familiar with from their influence on Marx, but I’m not at all confident about my overall feel for the work. Feel free to drop in whenever it suits.

Leave a Reply

